## FORT VERMILION & AREA SENIORS AND ELDERS LODGE BOARD 1788

Minutes of <u>AGM</u> - November 19, 2019

**Present**: Registered Membership

**Call to Order:** Meeting called to order by Jeff Anderson at 7:03 pm.

**Adoption of** 

Agenda: Wendy Ward moved acceptance of the Agenda. CARRIED

Minutes of 2018

**AGM:** Jeff Anderson presented the highlights from the 2018 AGM as follows:

-Chairman's Annual Report was presented.

- Motions were made for elections only. Positions up for election were: Vice-Chair, Secretary and two (2) directors (Noreen McAteer & Keith Lambert)

- Multi departmental government Task Force general discussion.

Approval of

Minutes: Greg Newman moved approval of minutes as presented. CARRIED

**Financial** 

**Report:** Bank balance as of June 30, 2019 is \$39,007.00

John Simpson / William Ducharme moved acceptance of the Financial Report.

CARRIED

## **New Business:**

A) Chairman's Annual Report was presented - copy attached

**B)** At 7:30 pm - Chair was turned over to Raymond Friesen for election of officers. Elections will be done by secret ballot.

Nominations open for Chairperson. Jeff Anderson nominated by Eric Jorgenson. Jeff accepted nomination. Al Toews moved nomination cease. Eric Jorgenson called question on Al Toew's motion. All in Favour. Jeff Anderson is Chairman by acclamation.

Nominations open for Treasurer. Bill Boese nominated by Greg Newman. Bill accepted nomination. Kevin Smith nominated by Carson Flett. Kevin declined nomination. John Simpson moved nominations cease.

Bill Boese is Treasurer by acclamation.

Nominations open for 3 Directors (Positions up are for Jed Randle, Eric Jorgenson & Kevin Smith).

Cameron Cardinal nominated Jed Randle. Jed accepts by written proxy.

Anita Lambert nominates Eric Jorgenson. Eric accepts nomination.

Carson Flett nominates Kevin Smith. Kevin accepts nomination.

Ivy Loonskin nominates Carson Flett. Carson accepts nomination.

Carson Flett nominates Ivy Loonskin. Ivy accepts nomination.

Cameron Cardinal moves nomination cease. All in favor.

Greg Newman and Joanne Smith volunteered to be Scrutineers. Ballots are counted.

## Directors elected are Kevin Smith, Eric Jorgenson and Jed Randle.

Al Toews moves to destroy ballots. All in favor. Elections completed.

Raymond Friesen turned Chair over to Jeff Anderson.

**C)** Discussion on 2018 Auditor's Report (copies are on hand) & Appointment of the 2019 Auditors.

Kevin Smith and Raymond Friesen are appointed auditors from the Board for completing the 2019 audit.

Correspondence: None.

## Open floor discussion:

Ena Simpson spoke about a survey to be done by the River Road Trading Post.

Question from membership: How many times can Directors be absent from regular meetings?

There is not specific answer as discretion is necessary.
 Directors attend, unless for a very viable reason to be absent.
 This will be further discussed at a Board regular meeting soon.

Question: from membership Can people let their name stand for election by written proxy?

o General consensus is yes as this was done previously.

**Adjournment:** Eric Jorgenson moved meeting be adjourned at 8:00 pm.